Rod Drouillard (Lakeshore, Ont.) has been coaching softball for 17 years and has worked with athletes of all ages and levels, including three years as a University of Windsor softball coach. He is the current Head Coach and President of the Windsor Wildcats organization and an active Level III Umpire. Drouillard is known for his passion and dedication to the game, while always making sure that every player has a smile on their face. Many of his players would say that “a good coach can change a game, a great coach can change a life”, and that is exactly what Drouillard did.

Starting in 2004, Drouillard took his U10 team all the way through U18, improving each year, and concluding with a Gold Medal at the Eastern Canadian Championship. Then, while continuing to work with this team in a local Ladies league, he returned to the U12 level to start his coaching journey all over again with a new group of athletes. This U12 team has now been together for the better part of eight years and has qualified for the Canadian Championships in each of the last six seasons; this year earning silver at the U19 Women’s Canadian Championships losing 6-5 in an exciting eight inning game.

As a coach, Drouillard has instilled pride, confidence, determination, and persistence in each one of his athletes with a motto his team played by: “don’t practice ’til you get it right, practice ’til you can’t get it wrong”. This philosophy, along with his passion and commitment, made for many successes throughout his 17 years as a coach, and has made him an honourable recipient of the 2018 Kahunaverse Sports Coach of the Year award.


2017 – Chris Hopewell (Nova Scotia)
2016 – Jean-Yves Doucet (Quebec)
2015 – David Muswaggon (Manitoba)
2014 – John Hill (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2013 – Haylee O’Neill (Manitoba)
2012 – Mike Soucy (Alberta)
2011 – Jamie Wentworth (Nova Scotia)
2010 – Earle Woodside (Saskatchewan)
2009 – Claude Vinet (Quebec)
2008 – Dave Bourne (Ontario)
2007 – Tyler Lorenz (British Columbia)
2006 – Jim Dunphy (Newfoundland & Labrador)
2005 – Marie-Claude Lapointe (Quebec)
2004 – Phil Thom (British Columbia)
2003 – Rocky Larson (Alberta)
2002 – Paul Doiron (Nova Scotia)
2001 – Allan Schwarz (Alberta)
2000 – Jerry Dugger (British Columbia)
1999 – Ray Gillis (New Brunswick)
1998 – Bob Turner (Manitoba)
1997 – Roger Ahern (Prince Edward Island)
1996 – Not awarded
1995 – Evelyn and Roy Holenski (Manitoba)
1994 – Louis Henri (New Brunswick)
1993 – David McLean (Saskatchewan)
1992 – Ian Belyea (Alberta)
1991 – Fred Jackson (Newfoundland & Labrador)
1990 – Emile Berube (Alberta)
1989 – Doug Holoien (Saskatchewan)