WBSC announces hosts, dates of Tokyo 2020 Olympic Baseball/Softball Qualifiers

The first Olympic Softball qualifier this year will be held in Europe, from 23 to 28 July in Utrecht, Netherlands. This eight-team qualifying event hosted by the Dutch Baseball and Softball Federation (KNBSB) will allocate one spot to the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020. The competition will feature the top six finishers of the European Championship and the top two softball teams in Africa.

The Americas Olympic Softball Qualifier will be hosted by Softball Canada and staged from 25 August to 1 September in Surrey, Province of British Columbia. This qualifier will feature up to 16 National Teams, with the top two advancing to the six-team Olympic softball event at the Tokyo 2020 Games.

The Asia/Oceania Qualifier is scheduled for 24 to 29 September in Shanghai, under host Chinese Softball Association. This Olympic qualifier will feature eight teams — six from the Asian Games and two from Oceania — and award the final place to Tokyo 2020.

The USA Softball Women’s National Team was the first to qualify for Tokyo 2020, winning the WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship last year in Chiba, Japan.

Host country Japan has been granted an automatic entry into the 2020 Olympic Baseball and Softball events.

leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.